Dale – The ‘slog’

#DerbyStudent, Dale T, Derby Uni

One thing I’ve come to realise quite recently is how things work here. And that it’s quite the opposite from how I first saw things. In my first few weeks at uni I was constantly being bombarded (in a good way) by new things to do, see, and experience. This gave me the impression that everything here was quick and changing all the time. My plans were being updated and altered almost every day, and it was so hard to keep track of things. In all honesty it was quite overwhelming.

But as time went on you get used to it. You start to know people’s timetables (including your own), and just generally how things work at university. Then you start to know it even better. Then it becomes boring.

Nearing the end of first year uni suddenly became intensely boring. My schedule was, week after week, something along the lines of: work, sleep, see friends, procrastinate, work, sleep… and so on. No-one knows why this happens to us, but it was certainly a generally accepted feeling amongst me and my friends. This is the ‘slog’ of uni. The ‘lure’ of doing new things every day had worn off, and people settle down into normal routines, all the while building up deadlines.

Then suddenly it all went! I felt like I picked myself up, dusted off and just started doing things again. I was enjoying everything I did again as part of my uni life (which as you can see, https://derbyunilhss.wordpress.com/2015/01/27/dale-day-to-day-of-a-historian/, is very busy), and I wasn’t bored again!

The whole experience was very weird… After coming here with the expectation of every day to be full on and challenging in some way, it was weird to be feeling bored quite a lot. If this happens to you, there are a couple of things you need to remember:

  1. Stay active. Some days you might feel like just staying in and relaxing, and that’s fine. But too many of these days are dangerous. Not only do you become less productive when you do start working, but you miss out on a huge range of things going on in uni!
  2. Be excited about the things you do. If you go into something with the mind-set that you are going to put into it everything you can, and get out of it just as much, then you will definitely be making the most out of it all!
  3. Be enduring. This is starting to sound like some weird motivational poster so this will be the last point, but you’ve got to remember that everything you do here is changing you in some way. Some things will affect you for the better, and some things will do the opposite. It’s up to you to find these good impacts and stick with them for as long as you can.

I realise this is not the happiest of posts, about how wonderful uni life is, but it is the truth; some days you will question why you came here in the first place. But like I said above, it’s all for the better, so get out there and be active!

Leave a Reply

