Scott – Enjoy it while it lasts

#chooseDerby, #DerbyStudent, Digital Ambassador Derby, LHSS

When you first come to uni, the day that you hand in your final piece of coursework or sit your last exam may seem a million miles away.

In reality, it is. Three years is a long time and a lot will happen, you will learn and develop in many ways and you’ll hopefully love every minute of it as I have.

However, this time you have seems to flash past you before you even realise what’s going on.

This might seem like quite a depressing thought, but it really doesn’t have to be!

It should spur you on to make sure you get as much out of uni as you can.

I’m sure you’ve heard the old Latin expression ‘Carpe Diem’ before.

Well, in case you haven’t, it means seize the day. Or, in other words, make the most of it.

The overwhelming majority of people who have been or at currently at uni will tell you that it’s the best decision they ever made. That’s certainly how I view it anyway.

I’ve immersed myself in the lifestyle and taken a lot of opportunities that have come my way, and they have helped to shape my experience here in Derby.

Uni is a great time to make a lot of new friends and live your own life and get the most out of your time.

There’s so much that you can get involved in, such as the student radio station, an array of different sports teams, volunteering opportunities and much more.

It’s all there for you to take your pick from, and I even have some regret at not doing something more, specifically trying out for one of the football teams.

I’m not actually part of any societies or clubs, but I have taken a keen interest in sports nutrition and exercise since I arrived here, and that’s helped me to keep entertained and healthy at the same time.
I’ve also taken chances presented to me through my course, such as this job for one!

I have a friend who I’m not sure has made the most of their experience so far, but luckily for them they have more time left at uni than I do, so they hopefully will.

Having more experience than them, I feel like I should grab them, shake them and tell them to get out there and experience everything this period of your life has to offer rather than sitting inside the four walls of the flat most of the time.

This may suit some people down to the ground, which is fine!

But there is so much more to uni than simply going to lectures and writing essays.

It’s a time to really ‘seize the day’ and make the most of the time you have here, because it really will be gone before you know it.

And that’s my over-riding message to you about the whole experience.

I’m really sad that my time here is all but at an end, so I feel like I need to use my position as Digital Student Ambassador to give you my biggest piece of advice yet.

Enjoy it while it lasts.

Leave a Reply

