Scott – 5 tips when approaching deadline day

#chooseDerby, #DerbyStudent, Digital Ambassador Derby, LHSS

It’s getting to that point in the year again when there’s lots of stress and not a lot of time. Yep, it’s that period where everyone has their final deadlines looming large.

Naturally, everyone is going to be worrying at least a little bit. Some people are innately more relaxed than others, and some are far more prepared than others.

No matter what kind of person you are or how you’ve prepared yourself, there are some things you can do to help ease you through your work and make everything run a little more smoothly for you.

So, being the kind natured guy that I am, I’m now going to share with you lucky lot some of the things that I do that help me keep my head when my hand-in dates are approaching.

 

1. Manage your time effectively.

The likelihood is that you’re going to be juggling a lot of different pieces of work for a lot of different modules when deadlines approach, and it’s easier than you might think to forget a piece of work.

I don’t mean completely forget that it exists of course, but it’s so easy to get wrapped up in one piece of work that you don’t leave yourself adequate time to do a good job on some of the other assignments you have.

This can be a real nightmare, and really put you at a disadvantage when it comes to getting the best grade you can.

I find that spending a few hours a day doing different pieces of work can help, because then, by the end of the week, you’ve made a considerable dent in your total workload. Or even spend a day of the week working on different things if you find it too difficult to switch focus during the day.

2. Give yourself plenty of breaks

It’s an age old trick, but it really works!

I usually try and do an hour to an hour-and-a-half of work before taking 15 or 20 minutes to chill. This usually involves me and my flat mate giving each other an update of how we’re getting on in the kitchen while we make a green tea or get a bit of food.

Something like this just helps your brain refresh a little and you can go back to your work revitalised and ready to knock it out of the park!

Don’t start playing on the XBOX or watching TV during your break though, it’s far too easy to sit for a lot longer than you’d planned if you do that.

You’ll never get back into the groove if you do that.

3. Make the coursework your number one priority

One of the struggles of having so much coursework to do is that you actually have to live as well.

There will be days when you have things to do that aren’t essays and presentations.

But it’s important that you still make sure your uni work is top of your agenda. Get up, get ready, do your work.

Going to the gym or doing your washing or getting some food for tomorrow can wait until the evening. If you start doing these things first, then you risk not having any time left afterwards to hit your work targets for the day.

4. Make yourself daily and weekly targets

Speaking of targets, it’s vitally important that you make yourself some!

Whether you write them all down on a piece of paper and cross them off as you complete them, or you just work towards them in your head, just make sure you know what you’re working towards.

I like to try to be slightly overly optimistic when I set myself daily targets, so then if I don’t tick everything off my list, it makes me more determined to get through everything the following day.

5. All-nighters: avoid at all costs!

They seem to be pretty common stories coming out of every uni, so you’d presume that you’re going to have to pull one at some point, right?

Not at all. In fact, I’d strongly advise that you didn’t let it get to that stage at all.

I’ve never done one myself and I don’t plan on doing one in this final month of my uni career either. I’ve done late nights, that much is true, and even then when it hits 11 o’clock, I can feel my concentration waning and the quality of my work going sharply downhill.

Even after battling through until the early hours, I felt exhausted and woke up slightly later than I wanted to the next day feeling groggy to say the least.

Things like this only have a knock-on effect to the next day or two and although you might blitz your work in your 24 hour session, you’ll lose out in the long run by being too drained to do anything in the following days.

 

Leave a Reply

